Swept Away

This poem goes out to all those military families waiting to be reunited with their loved ones, whether here or in the next life. I’d like to take a moment to thank all the brave men and women who gave their life to protect this country from sea to sea. As we enjoy time off tomorrow, we’ll use it to think of you and dream of being together again on the same shore. Happy Memorial Day!

Swept Away

The rising tide came

and swept you from the shore

I stare across the sea

searching for the one I knew before

The sand dances across my feet

while the waves tickle my toes

But even nature’s mirth

won’t take away my woe.

You stare across the sea

searching for the child you knew before

But now I am grown.

You could not see me

For I am not that boy

You settle in the sand

and think your life’s destroyed.

We stare across the same sea

Looking from different shores

Gather your courage, take up your oar

We’ll find each other, you’ll see

We’ll be looking across the same sea

side by side and hand in hand

staring across that same sea

looking from the same shore.

Leave a comment